Real Estate License Renewal

The Ohio Real Estate License renewal cycle is based by your birthday and the year you were licensed.

Renewal Date

Not sure which year you renew? Search your license and verify your renewal date:

Continuing Education Requirements

Each licensee below the age of 70 is required to take 30 hours of continuing education and submit their renewal form and certificates by their birthdate in their renewal year.

Within their 30 hours, each licensee is required to take the following continuing education:

  • 3 hours of Ohio Canon of Ethics
  • 3 hours of Core Law
  • 3 hours of Civil Rights/Fair Housing

For the combined renewal application and CE compliance form:

For more information about Continuing Education:


Ohio Division of Real Estate & Professional Licensing (REPL)

The Division of Real Estate and Professional Licensing (REPL) is part of the Ohio Department of Commerce.

They can be reached at 6606 Tussing Rd, Reynoldsburg, OH 43068 or by calling 614-466-4100.

The Division of Real Estate is responsible for licensing:

  • Real Estate brokers, salespersons, and companies
  • Appraisers and appraisal management companies
  • Foreign real estate dealers and salespersons
  • Manufactured homes dealers, brokers, and salespersons
  • Home inspectors

General Inquiries & Questions

Real Estate Salespersons & Brokers

Real Estate Appraisers & AMCs


Real Estate License Requirements

To get your Real Estate license in Ohio there are several requirements, including:

  • Required Education
  • Broker Sponsorship
  • Application Submission
  • Test Scheduling

Pre-License Course Locations

To obtain your real estate license in Ohio, it’s required that you take pre-licensing courses at an Institution of Higher Education.  The Ohio Association of Community Colleges (OACC) has partnered with Ohio REALTORS to offer pre-licensing classes at more than 15 community colleges around the state, offering both classroom and online course options.